When My Breath Stinks…Let Me Know!

When I wake up out here it always feels like a new day.  I can barely have any sleep and be as tired as a wheel, but still, I keep on turning. Out here it takes a lot of energy to do little things.  For instance, to go to a meeting we have to go about six or seven blocks.  Our most
reliable source of transportation is walking or using our bikes (my bike is the same size as Evelyn’s).   Don’t get me wrong, we love walking and biking, but this heat and the dirt aren’t the most comfortable things at times.  We can’t wait for the day that we can say, “Estamos acostumbre!”  That goes for these bug bites as well.

We started teaching Tae Kwon Do in our house last week.  We have a lot of work to do! Not only do we not know the technical terms in Spanish, but we have to teach the fundamentals of coordination to our students.  We are also going to be starting English classes next week. These are not primary tasks of ours, but people seem to want to learn them.  We hope to incorporate self-esteem, working in groups and leadership in these classes.

How are things going on in the States?  I haven’t been able to follow anything.  The local Rosarinos seem to know more about what’s going on than me.  They actually
tell me about the state of the states.   It’s funny at times.  I’m trying my best to be here; in
every sense of the word.  I am working to be present mentally, physically and spiritually.  It’s always been a challenge for me to just be.  If I’m not thinking about what was good or bad, then I am thinking about what will be.  I think that I am slowly getting there, but the road is as tricky as it is here after six hours of tortuous rain.

I’m about to start planting seeds in our garden.  There will be chard, spinach, broccoli, arugula and spicy peppers… I hope.  I only know what I’ve read in my little book of gardening and what’s available on the internet.  I’m trying what is called The
Deep Bed Method.  I hope the seeds don’t fall asleep before they grow.  Wish me
luck and if you know anything about anything, please advise me!

The sun is staying in the same place right now as the moon patiently awaits its shift.  Our jeans that Evelyn washed by hand are drying… you may not believe me, but it’s easier than using  a machine!  We’ll see after two years right?  Oh, and I wanted to ask if anyone would be interested in trying some of the foods that are typical Paraguayan meals?  If so, let me know.  We can start putting up the recipes and you can try them at home.  It will be like
we’re eating together!

I hope all is well with all! TQM!  (Te Quiero Mucho)

Chao!

This entry was posted in cooks. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When My Breath Stinks…Let Me Know!

  1. ooo yea recipes please! 🙂

  2. Shawn says:

    Recipes! I’ll just have to get a chef to prepare these wonderful meals!

  3. Cayce and Ann-Marissa says:

    First of all, your breath does STINK!!! We can smell it all the way up here, do something about that please 🙂

    I’m glad to hear that you guys are doing extra work in the community and sounds like they are starting well. I can’t say that we agree with washing your clothes, but we won’t argue about that right now!!!

    Anyways, we love and miss you both, send some of your favorite recipes and we’ll give them a shot…well….at least i’ll give them a shot (CMC).

  4. dioncook says:

    Ha…You’ll see when you come down here! We’ll show you how to do it. Love you too and looking forward to a skype chat soon.

Leave a comment